Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays
We've already thought ahead for your next getaway. Whether you're a local searching for a short break, or an international traveller with an extended Mauritius itinerary — we're here to help you start planning.

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays. Please scroll down to view.

The Republic of Mauritius is an island nation that is located about 1,200 miles east of the African continent in the Indian Ocean. Although its location is so far from the main land, Mauritius is considered an African nation. Mauritius consists of the main island of Mauritius, Rodrigues and the Outer Islands.

Mauritius has a very diverse culture and their public holidays reflect this diversity. A majority of their public holidays are religion based. Many of the holidays that are celebrated each year fall on different dates because they are based on specific religious calendars and lunar cycles. The government of Mauritius asks that all employers acknowledge these dates, regardless of their changing dates. Dates are announced in the end of each year for the following year.

The holidays in Mauritius are decided each year by the Cabinet and announced at the end of the year. There are currently no official decrees guaranteeing any specific holiday. The Prime Minister has the authority to declare holidays throughout the year if necessary.

Employers are required to provide their employees with a day off for nationally recognised holidays. At this time, pay for these holidays are based on the contracts that the employees have with their employer and is not mandated by law. All regulations regarding days off for holidays are contained within the Labor Code.

Religious, Cultural, Linguistic, and Professional Holidays

The country of Mauritius has a very diverse culture that celebrates many different religions. There are also many different sects within each of these religions. Each of these religions, cultures, and linguistic groups may celebrate certain holidays that are not recognised by the government.

Since the country is spread out over several islands, there may also be holidays associated with specific areas or providences that are not recognised in other areas of the country. The government acknowledges that these holidays take place, but do not officially recognised them with days off from work.

Banks may also close on specific dates that are not in conjunction with any national or religious holidays. These holidays are generally announced in the beginning of each year.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
28 JanSatChinese New Year
(Spring Festival)
1 FebWedCommemoration of the
Abolition of Slavery
9 FebThuThaipoosam Cavadee
24 FebFriMaha Shivaratree
12 MarSunNational Day
29 MarWedOugadi / Ugadi
1 MayMonLabour Day
26 JunMonEid al-Fitr / End of Ramadan
26 AugSatGanesh Chathurthi
19 OctThuDivali / Festival of Lights
1 NovWedAll Saints' Day
2 NovThuCommemoration of the Arrival
of Indentured Labourers
25 DecMonChristmas Day

Visit for the original release.